Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Chromebook topic
Streetlight Manifesto Unofficial Forum > RISC > Streetlight Manifesto
sellout
I've been using a Chromebook almost exclusively for the last 2 months. Today, some Android apps were released. Anyone want to share any tips? I'll probably install Linux once I have an opportunity to back up my local drive. I've got the 14" HP model with the 16 GB SDD.

Wants:
-Extensions being able to be pinned to the taskbar, such as Hangouts.
-A e-reader application from Google. The third party ones are wonky.
-Better wallpaper options. I don't think there is a center and fit option so vertical photos of a high resolution are always cut off at the top and bottom. There is a third party wallpaper app that fixes this but come on.

Favorite App:
-Google Keep - Simple and efficient note keeping that auto saves and is shared between my phone and my computer.

RotatingHornSection
Literally my only issue with my Samsung chromebook is that when I hit the new tab button, it proceeds to open a sometimes unending stream of new tabs. After one update one time it would open 2, so that was an improvement. After the next update, it returned to form opening this stream of unending new tabs..
TheChord
I'll list some of my favorite apps and chrome extensions in general.

Apps:
Spelunky, for when you wanna play an awesome game.
Mosh, let's you use mosh! a really rad ssh alternative.
Pocket, updated read it later/instapaper syncs with android.
Chrome remote desktop, which i think is installed by default, is really great for troubleshooting my parent's computer problems without having to install a real client.

Extensions:
Vimium, dope ass extension that adds vim keyboard commands to chrome, making it so you can browse without a mouse.
Pushbullet so that I get alerts/texts/calls pushed from my android to my computer.
Tampermonkey, user scripts. It's name also teases me because there's no tamper data on chrome.